top of page

Reel Black Men Film Festival 2016


www.bherc.org The first Black Film Festival I ever attended was the Black Hollywood Education & Resource Center's (BHERC) Reel Black Men Film Festival at LA’s historic Raleigh Studios Chaplin Theater. It being my 1st Oops! screening, the genius programming of Andre Campbell's under four (4) minute short supplied true comic relief in closing the evening of no cost screenings.

Intelligently hosted by Kris Keiser, preceding the 139 West Productions short was much more dramatic fare including: Charles Little II's Showtime, Solomon Onita's Joy, Michael Blackman's Sister Did What?, Keith Offutt's intriguing Injustice, Kali Baker-Johnson's unique This Is How I Want To Remember H.E.R., Thomas Stewart's disturbing Protect and Serve plus Malcom Baity's discomforting Blackface.

A lively discussion followed the screenings prior to a lovely catered meal.

Now, as I look back at that night across the street from Paramount Studios, I realize it is there that I got hooked on Black film festivals.

Therefore, I thank BHERC for so expertly starting me out on a journey which eventually inspired me to write this blog.

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page